tombe de saint pierre

Planifiez une visite du tombeau de saint Pierre

Sous la basilique Saint-Pierre se trouve le tombeau de saint Pierre, un important lieu de sépulture historique et religieux depuis le 1er siècle. Construite en l'honneur de saint Pierre, l'un des douze apôtres de Jésus-Christ, la tombe comporte plusieurs structures qui, ensemble, forment un grand tombeau. Ces structures ont été créées par les autorités du Vatican pour commémorer le martyre de saint Pierre.

Qui était saint Pierre ?

tombe de saint pierre

Où se trouve la tombe de saint Pierre ?

Tombe de saint Pierre

La tombe de saint Pierre est située dans les entrailles de la basilique Saint-Pierre, plus précisément dans la nécropole du Vatican. On pense qu'après sa mort, saint Pierre a été enterré sur la colline du Vatican, près du lieu de son martyre.

Au début, une ancienne basilique a été construite sur le site de la tombe de saint Pierre, qui a finalement été remplacée par la structure actuelle de la basilique Saint-Pierre.

Comment visiter la tombe de saint Pierre

Prévoyez une visite à la basilique Saint-Pierre, où vous pourrez accéder au tombeau de l'apôtre et à d'autres tombes papales dans la nécropole du Vatican. Tout le monde peut visiter le tombeau en passant par la basilique, pendant les heures d'ouverture, entre 7 h et 18 h 30. Ne manquez pas l'occasion d'explorer le site funéraire souterrain, un sanctuaire sacré et un trésor historique.

Visiter la basilique Saint-Pierre

Basilique Saint-Pierre : Visite guidée en petit groupe

Annulation gratuite
Confirmation immédiate
Billets mobiles
1 h
Visite guidée
En savoir plus +

Coupole de la basilique Saint-Pierre : Visite guidée

Annulation gratuite
Confirmation immédiate
Billets mobiles
2 h
Visite guidée
En savoir plus +

Ascension du dôme de la basilique Saint-Pierre avec visite des musées du Vatican et de la chapelle Sixtine

Annulation gratuite
Confirmation immédiate
Billets mobiles
5 h 30 min
Visite guidée
En savoir plus +

La mort de saint Pierre

tombe de saint pierre

L'apôtre Pierre a été crucifié sur la place Saint-Pierre, située en face de la basilique Saint-Pierre. Cette zone était connue sous le nom de cirque de Néron au cours du 1er siècle et était utilisée comme lieu d'exécutions et d'audiences publiques. Sa mort a été ordonnée par l'empereur Néron dans le cadre des persécutions et massacres de chrétiens en 64 après JC.

Saint Pierre a subi le martyre à Rome à l'époque de Néron. Il a été crucifié avec saint Paul, qui aurait fondé l'Église de Rome avec Pierre. Son martyre est représenté dans l'iconographie religieuse sous la forme d'une crucifixion avec la tête dirigée vers le bas. Il pensait qu'il était indigne d'être crucifié de la même manière que le Christ et souhaitait que sa tête soit orientée vers le bas pendant sa mort.

À propos de la tombe de saint Pierre

Tombe de saint Pierre

Histoire du tombeau

En l'an 64 de notre ère, un gigantesque incendie s'est produit à Rome, dont l'empereur Néron a accusé les chrétiens. Cela a conduit à la crucifixion de saint Pierre, qui était considéré comme le chef des chrétiens. Il a ensuite été enterré dans la nécropole du Vatican, à proximité du lieu de sa mort.  

Vers 326, l'empereur Constantin Ier a ordonné la construction d'une basilique massive pour commémorer la mort de saint Pierre. Cette ancienne basilique a été construite sur le lieu de repos final du saint dans la nécropole du Vatican. 

Après l'effondrement de l'ancienne basilique Saint-Pierre, une nouvelle église a été construite sur le même site par le pape Jules II, qui souhaitait préserver le caractère sacré du lieu de sépulture de saint Pierre.

tombe de saint Pierre

Fouilles récentes

Lors de la pose des fondations de quatre colonnes massives conçues par Le Bernin, plusieurs tombes ont été découvertes sous la basilique au XVIème siècle. Ces tombes ont été redécouvertes au XIXème siècle sous le règne du pape Pie XI. 

Ce dernier souhaitait être enterré près de la tombe de saint Pierre, ce qui a conduit à des fouilles ultérieures du site. Un ensemble complexe de mausolées a été découvert lors de la construction de la tombe du pape, qui faisait partie de l'ancienne nécropole du Vatican.

tombe de saint Pierre

Reliques de saint Pierre

En 1942, un prêtre catholique du nom de Ludwig Kaas a découvert des reliques dans une deuxième tombe de la nécropole. Ces reliques ont été placées ailleurs pour être mises en sécurité, mais après la mort de Kaas, elles ont été accidentellement découvertes par un archéologue. Les restes ont immédiatement été rendus à l'Église, dans la conviction qu'ils appartenaient à saint Pierre.

Des examens archéologiques ont révélé que les ossements appartenaient à un homme de 61 ans du 1er siècle. Le pape Paul VI était convaincu que les ossements étaient ceux de saint Pierre et l'a annoncé au public.

tombe de saint pierre

Foire aux questions : Tombe de saint Pierre

Qui était saint Pierre ?

Pierre était l'un des douze apôtres du Christ. Il a contribué à la création de l'Église chrétienne et est largement considéré comme le premier pape.

Quand et où saint Pierre est-il décédé ?

La mort de saint Pierre a eu lieu en 64 après J.-C., sur le site de la place Saint-Pierre, anciennement connue sous le nom de cirque de Néron.

Comment saint Pierre est-il décédé ?

Saint Pierre a été condamné à mort par crucifixion par l'empereur Néron.

Où saint Pierre a-t-il été enterré ?

On pense que saint Pierre a été enterré à l'extrémité Ouest du cirque de Néron sur la colline du Vatican.

L'apôtre Pierre est-il vraiment enterré à la basilique Saint-Pierre ?

Des preuves archéologiques suggèrent que le corps de saint Pierre a très probablement été enterré sur la colline du Vatican.

Où sont les reliques de saint Pierre ?

Les reliques de saint Pierre auraient été découvertes lors de fouilles modernes. Ces restes sont conservés à la basilique Saint-Pierre.

Les reliques de saint Pierre sont-elles réelles ?

L'examen des reliques retrouvées a révélé qu'elles appartenaient à un homme de 61 ans du 1er siècle. Cela a conduit le pape Paul VI à annoncer qu'elles appartenaient très probablement à saint Pierre.

Comment puis-je visiter la tombe de saint Pierre ?

La tombe de saint Pierre est ouverte au public et on peut y accéder par la basilique Saint-Pierre. Elle est située dans la nécropole souterraine du Vatican.

Dois-je payer pour visiter le tombeau de saint Pierre ?

L'accès aux tombes papales se fait par la basilique Saint-Pierre. Vous ne devez pas payer pour entrer dans l'église, sauf si vous souhaitez faire une visite guidée.

Quelles structures sont dédiées à saint Pierre dans la basilique Saint-Pierre ?

Outre la basilique, dédiée elle-même à saint Pierre, le sanctuaire et le baldaquin ont été construits pour commémorer son martyre.

St. Peter's Tomb

Plan a Visit to the Grand Tomb of St. Peter

Buried under St. Peter’s Basilica is the treasured Tomb of St. Peter, an important historical and religious burial site since the 1st century. Built in honor of St. Peter - one of the twelve apostles of Jesus Christ, the tomb has several structures that together make up a grand tomb. These structures were created by the Vatican authorities to memorialize the martyrdom of St. Peter.

Who is Saint Peter?

St. Peter's Tomb

St. Peter, formerly known as Simon or Simeon, was one of the twelve disciples of Christ and the first leader of the early Christian Church. 

He led the founding of the Christian Church after Jesus’s death, which made him an important figure during the 1st century. For his contributions to the Church and his role as a leader of the Christian community, St. Peter is considered the first official Pope of Christendom.

More about Saint Peter

Where is St. Peter's Tomb located?

St. Peter's Tomb

The Tomb of St. Peter is located in the depths of St. Peter's Basilica in an area called the Vatican Necropolis. It is believed that after the death of St. Peter, he was buried on Vatican Hill, close to the site of his martyrdom.

At first, an old basilica was built on the site of St. Peter's Tomb, which was eventually replaced by the current structure of St. Peter's Basilica.

How to Visit St. Peter’s Tomb

Plan a visit to St. Peter’s Basilica, where you can access the tomb of the Apostle and other Papal tombs at the Vatican Necropolis. Anyone can visit the tomb through the Basilica, during its opening hours between 7 AM & 6:30 PM. Don’t miss out on the chance to explore the underground burial site- a sacred sanctuary and a historical treasure.

Visit St. Peter's Basilica

Small-Group St. Peter's Basilica Guided Tour

Mobile Tickets
Guided Tour
Free Cancellation
More Details +

St. Peter’s Basilica Dome: Guided Tour

Skip the Line
Mobile Tickets
Instant Confirmation
Free Cancellation
More Details +

Semi Private Guided Tour - Vatican Museums & Sistine Chapel

Duration: 2.5 Hours
Mobile Tickets
Small Tour Group
Expert Guide
Skip the Line
Free Cancellation
More Details +

Vatican City Tour with St. Peter's Basilica Dome Climb

Duration: 5.5 Hrs
Mobile Tickets
Instant Confirmation
Guided Tour
Free Cancellation
More Details +
From €99€89
Save 10%

The Death of St. Peter

St. Peter's Tomb

Peter the Apostle was crucified at the site of St. Peter’s Square, located in front of St. Peter's Basilica. This area was known as the Circus of Nero during the 1st century and was used as a spot for public executions and hearings. His death was ordered by Emperor Nero as part of the grotesque executions of Christians in 64 AD.

St. Peter suffered martyrdom in Rome during Nero's time. He was crucified along with St. Paul, who is said to have founded the Church in Rome along with Peter. His martyrdom is depicted in religious iconography as crucifixion with his head pointed downward. He believed that he was unworthy of being crucified the same way as Christ and wished for his head to face down during his death.

About St. Peter's Tomb

St. Peter's Tomb

History of the Tomb

A massive fire occurred in Rome in the year 64 AD, for which Emperor Nero blamed the Christians. This subsequently led to the crucifixion of St. Peter, who was considered the leader of the Christians. He was then buried at the Vatican Necropolis close to the site of his death.  

Around 326 AD, Emperor Constantine I ordered the construction of a massive basilica to commemorate the death of St. Peter. This ancient basilica was built over the final resting place of the Saint at the Vatican Necropolis. 

After the collapse of Old St. Peter’s Basilica, a new church was built on the same site by Pope Julius II, who wished to preserve the sanctity of St. Peter’s burial site.

St. Peter's Tomb

Modern Excavations

When the foundation was being laid for four massive columns designed by Bernini, several burial tombs were discovered below the Basilica during the 16th century. These graves were rediscovered during the 19th century under the reign of Pope Pius XI. 

He wished to be buried next to St. Peter’s Tomb, which led to subsequent excavations of the site. A complex set of mausoleums were discovered during the construction of the Pope’s tomb, which formed a part of the ancient Vatican Necropolis.

St. Peter's Tomb

Relics of Saint Peter

In 1942, a Catholic priest named Ludwig Kaas uncovered relics from a second tomb in the necropolis. These relics were placed elsewhere for safe-keeping, however, after the death of Kaas, they were accidentally found by an archaeologist. The remains were immediately returned to the Church in the belief that they belonged to St. Peter.

Archeological examinations revealed that the bones belonged to a 61-year-old male from the 1st century. Pope Paul VI was convinced that the bones were those of St. Peter and announced the same to the public.

St. Peter's Tomb

Tomb at St. Peter’s Basilica

Dedicated to the honor of St. Peter, the new St. Peter’s Basilica houses the sacred tomb of the Apostle below its grounds inside the Vatican Necropolis. 

When the Basilica was being designed by Michelangelo, he made sure that the dome was constructed above St. Peter’s Tomb. Even the Baldacchino designed by Bernini was built right above the tomb, both of which mark the high level of importance given to St. Peter.  

Pope Pius XI wished to be buried next to St. Peter Tomb, after which the area became a prestigious burial site. Today, the Vatican Necropolis holds the tombs of about 91 Popes and other significant persons.

Visit St. Peter's Tomb

All Your St. Peter's Tomb Questions Answered

Q. Who was St. Peter?

A. Peter was one of the twelve apostles of Christ. He helped start the Christian Church and is widely considered the first Pope.

Q. When and where did St. Peter die?

A. St. Peter's death took place in 64 AD, on the site of St. Peter’s Square, formerly known as the Circus of Nero.

Q. How did St. Peter die?

A. St. Peter was sentenced to death by crucifixion by Emperor Nero.

Q. Where was St. Peter buried?

A. St. Peter is believed to have been buried on the west end of the Circus of Nero on Vatican Hill.

Q. Is Peter the Apostle really buried at St. Peter’s Basilica?

A. Archeological evidence suggests that St. Peter’s body was most likely buried at Vatican Hill.

Q. Where are the relics of St. Peter?

A. Allegedly, the relics of St. Peter were discovered through modern excavations. These remains are preserved at St. Peter’s Basilica.

Q. Are the relics of St. Peter real?

A. Examination of the found relics revealed them to belong to a 61-year-old male from the 1st century. This led Pope Paul VI to announce that they most likely belonged to St. Peter.

Q. How can I visit St. Peter’s tomb?

A. St. Peter’s tomb is open to the public and can be accessed through St. Peter’s Basilica. It is located in the underground Vatican Necropolis.

Q. Do I have to pay to visit St. Peter’s tomb?

A. Entry to the papal tombs is through St. Peter’s Basilica. You don’t have to pay to enter the Church unless you wish to go on a guided tour.

Q. What structures are dedicated to St. Peter at St. Peter’s Basilica?

A. Other than the Basilica itself being dedicated to St. Peter, a shrine, and a Baldacchino were built to commemorate his martyrdom.